Health Update

How I (sort of) Survived the Holidays: 2013 Edition

I survived the holidays! They didn’t go exactly as I would have liked. I was definitely my best Christmas Eve and it went down from there.By the time we had to opportunity to do Santa with Emma (step-daughter-to-be, age 4) the night of the 27th, I was in bad shape because I’d gotten the flu. I missed my Dad’s side of the family celebration this past Saturday (I missed all of you guys!).  However, all in all, it went better than last year. Last year, I tried to do way too much and I was much more ill than I am now. As they say, live and learn — that’s exactly what I did. All I can ask for is to keep moving in the right direction, and that is what I am getting. It just is incredibly slooowww moving. Like I said, sometime during Christmas I caught the flu, so I’ve been pretty sick all week, but I think I am shaking it off now. Hopefully before Monday, I have the energy to make a detailed chart of my symptoms and a illness progression timeline for when I see the geneticist, Dr. Tinkle. Well, here’s a peek into my holidays! It is a whole lot of pictures of yours truly since I don’t want to subject my/Jake’s (fiance) family members to being featured on my blog more than they already are in case they don’t enjoy it. :) You’ll notice many wardrobe changes because I kept trying to find a shirt that wasn’t a baggy tshirt but also didn’t hurt my armpits. Batman shirt for the win!

All of my Christmas shopping right to my door!

All of my Christmas shopping right to my door!

These are the ornaments Emma and I made this year. You just drip acrylic paint into a glass ornaments, swirl it around, then flip it over to drain. Jake and I may have had more fun with these than Emma.

These are the ornaments Emma and I made this year. You just drip acrylic paint into a glass ornaments, swirl it around, then flip it over to drain. Jake and I may have had more fun with these than Emma.

sole rebel fair trade shoe moccasin

I love these shoes because they are Fair Trade. It feels good knowing my shoes weren’t made by a slave child or adult… that the person wasn’t locked in a factory… They were made by an Aritsan in Ethiopa being paid a fair wage. Here’s their website: http://www.solerebels.com/

20131223-172507.jpg

Jake probably wouldn’t be thrilled if I put a picture of him in the Batman onesie I got him on here… so here’s one of me in it! Here’s a tip — everything is funnier when your fiance is in a Batman onesie!

I think it is a miracle Jake had a daughter, not a son. His generation of cousins has nine (I believe) guys and no girls!

I think it is a miracle Jake had a daughter, not a son. His generation of cousins has nine guys and no girls!

My fiance's cousins girlfriend (I know, it's a stretch) didn't come to my fiance's Christmas, but she still sent this awesome allergy friendly, paleo dessert for me. She doesn't even have food allergies, she's just sweet. :)

My fiance’s cousins girlfriend (I know, it’s a stretch) didn’t come to my fiance’s Christmas, but she still sent this awesome allergy friendly, paleo dessert for me. She doesn’t even have food allergies, she’s just sweet. :)

I love this dog, Buddy! I'm allergic to dogs, so of course, he seems to have developed a taste for licking my clothing/face. When Jake and I were dating, I'd go to pull out of the driveway, and his little face would be looking in my car window. I'd always get out and play with him!

I love this dog, Buddy! I’m allergic to dogs, so of course, he seems to have developed a taste for licking my clothing/face. When Jake and I were dating, I’d go to pull out of the driveway, and his little face would be looking in my car window. I’d always get out and play with him!

My mother-in-law-to-be reminded my to take a rest. At first, I said I didn't need one but then I figured she was right and I should before I burned out!

My mother-in-law-to-be reminded me to take a rest. At first, I said I didn’t need one but then I figured she was right and I should before I burned out!

I got snuggles while we opened with my family. It was the best. :)

I got snuggles while we opened with my family. It was the best. :)

my silly family you always hear all about

my silly family you always hear all about

our third Christmas

our third Christmas

This is my crazy big sister, Staci. She keeps me company while I have to rest!

This is my crazy big sister, Staci. She keeps me company while I have to rest!

Emma is so adorable if I might say so myself....

Emma is so adorable if I might say so myself….

This is my sister with her cute puppy, my aunt, me, my little cousin, and my great grandpa (the one who just turned 99). What I love, is this wasn't just for a picture. We really do sit around all piled up like that!

This is my sister with her cute puppy, my aunt, me, my little cousin, and my great grandpa (the one who just turned 99). What I love, is this wasn’t just for a picture. We really do sit around all piled up like that!

my fiance

my fiance

I am my mother's daughter. I arrange Emma's presents from Santa like a display.

I am my mother’s daughter. I arrange Emma’s presents from Santa like a display.

Emma scoping out her Santa stash. On her and Jake's way home, I mustered up all the enthusiasm I had (flu) and called her to tell her I thought I heard reindeer on the roof. I asked if I should wait in the bathroom for her to get home to check it out. She said, "NO, I want you to look!!"

Emma scoping out her Santa stash. On her and Jake’s way home, I mustered up all the enthusiasm I had (flu) and called her to tell her I thought I heard reindeer on the roof. I asked if I should wait in the bathroom for her to get home to check it out. She said, “NO, I want you to look!!”

Here is me today... Yep, the Mickey shirt from Dallas (where they sold no long sleeves in the entire store except for this) is back. I can't believe I am someone who wears a Mickey shirt when she has other options, but I guess I am! It has some fond memories attached to it.

Here is me today… Yep, the Mickey shirt from Dallas (where they sold no long sleeves in the entire store except for this) is back. I can’t believe I am someone who wears a Mickey shirt when she has other options, but I guess I am! It has some fond memories attached to it.

Here's where I am typing to you from and what has been my nest for the past 4-5 days. It's quite cozy, but I can't wait until I can have a life!

Here’s where I am typing to you from and what has been my nest for the past 4-5 days. It’s quite cozy and I have no shortage of pillows to get myself comfortable with, but I can’t wait until I can have a life! See the pink little stuffed pig on the nightstand, at the far left of the picture? When my grandma was dying of cancer about 7 years ago, I went to see her at the hospital and she had it in her room. I told her in Germany, some people give pig gifts for good luck. She had so many stuffed animals in her hospital room. She said, “Well, it isn’t doing me much good so why don’t you take it and give it a try!” I’ve always kept it nearby ever since. I like the story, but what if she was right and it is a cursed pig and that is what is going on with my health? Ha!

There is a picture missing. It would be of the plate of food I ate Christmas Day and my dessert. My Mom made almost every single dish allergy friendly and had two desserts (chocolate chip cookies and fudge) for me to choose from. She’s the best!

How were your holidays? I hope they have been lovely and you have a happy new years eve/day!

13 thoughts on “How I (sort of) Survived the Holidays: 2013 Edition

  1. Hi Kid!!! I agree with the homeschooling doctor. No occursed stuffed piggies!!!! I gotta admit, one of my favorite holiday traditions is the pictures that we spontainiously get! Love ya!!! Happy new year!!!

    Like

    • I guess I won’t burn the pig! I love our pictures. I’d love to see a montage of from when all us kids were little with you and Aunt Cathy (who should really get in pictures more often!!!) until now.

      Like

  2. A few comments… pretty random so I guess I’ll just list them instead of organize them into a long response… so:

    1. I am so sorry you got the flu! I am glad you are starting to shake it off! HUGS FOR YOU!
    2. You are so adorable! I am not sure if I already have said that but just in case… and for the record… you totally are! All cuteness! :) Loved your Batman onesie! :)
    3. Lovely dog! what a bummer that you’re allergic! :(
    4. Good job listening to your MIL (to be) and resting!
    5. I am glad you didn’t try to “overdo it” this Christmas! :) It is important you keep taking care of yourself!
    6. My daughter has a jacket just like beautiful Emma’s :) Cute!
    7. Thanks for all the pics and for always having the best attitude through it all! such an example!

    So… there’s my list! :) Let us know how you continue to improve! HUGS again.

    Like

  3. Pingback: I’ve Been Using The Pig Wrong! | lethargicsmiles

  4. Pingback: Hi! November 2014 | lethargicsmiles

Your turn!

