Other / Tips & Tricks for Illness Management

things you need to care about: iodine

Jackie:

I have been wanting to post about iodine for some time now. “Why?” you ask.

Well, as a POTSie, I used to think I didn’t need to worry about iodine. After all, I eat SO MUCH salt to keep my blood volume up; how could I ever be short? Even after I heard about iodine deficiency, I didn’t worry too much about using sea salt (which doesn’t cut it for iodine) instead of good old fashioned iodized Morton sea salt. With how much added sodium I get from my broths and other foods, I figured I was covered.

Even if you don’t have POTS and are the average American, you probably think you are covered too. You likely are more concerned about how much sodium you are consuming and being mindful of how much salt you add to food than you are about iodine. You think you don’t need to worry about iodine because you get plenty of sodium and basic salt is iodized in the US. Am I right? Then read on.

Guess what? The food industry does not care about your iodine intake! Is it really any surprise? They just want you to buy their chips and iodine is not a buzzword right now. “Natural” and “organic” and “no GMOs” are. They will get the cheapest salt they can and it is not iodized. Therefore, if you don’t eat iodine rich foods and do not use iodized salt, you have a problem. Most people are unaware they need to think about iodine. This is because iodine deficiency tends to be thought of as a mostly eradicated health issue thanks to salt iodization, causing such severe symptoms you couldn’t miss it. Neither of these facts are completely true.

If this isn’t enough (I hope it isn’t) and you are saying, “You’ve got me, I want to know more,” please read on to a medical doctor/fellow blogger’s blog post on iodine deficiency (complete with citations) which I have reblogged. There is no reason for me to write my own post when she has already started a series covering the topic so wonderfully. She is very much an anti-“voodoo” type doctor and sticks to the facts. Her post is informative and is the first post of a series she will be writing on iodine!

Originally posted on The HSD:

Iodine All Boxed Up

As far as most of the medical community is concerned, iodine has been boxed up in its cylindrical Morton’s salt-box (with that cute umbrella girl on it) and shelved–as if there is nothing further to know or learn about it.  Not so.

SaltFor iodine, I want you to be aware of three ideas:

1.  Iodine deficiency is insidiously on the rise in developed countries and putting people, particularly women and children at HUGE risk.  (Pregnant or pregnancy-eligible women need to take note.)  Many US doctors are not aware yet of this re-emerging problem.  We took care of “severe” iodine deficiency, and now years later, mild iodine deficiency is invisibly in our midst, wreaking its damage without our awareness.

2.  It’s not just the thyroid that needs iodine, but brains, immune systems, prostates, and breasts, too.  (Ahem, you got some of those, don’t you?)  I know my knowledge-base had a huge gap here regarding…

View original 1,998 more words

5 thoughts on “things you need to care about: iodine

    • I do consume a lot of salt. All that sodium in broth does me no good for iodine though! Kelp supplements are a good idea as long as it is a reputable supplier. One benefit of buying sea vegetables in their food form over supplement form is the FDA regulates things like the environment food is grown in and sets limits to keep us safe, but the same isn’t true for the sea vegetables made into supplements.

      Like

    • Yay! I enticed someone to read about iodine! I love The Homeschooling Doctor blog. I learn all sorts of things from her personal experiences and research.

      Like

Your turn!

